My Best

Last week I wrote about how wonderful it is to instantly click with a new friend. But this weekend I was reminded that there’s nothing quite like an old friendship that has withstood the test of time. A friendship in which, when you are reunited, you instantly fall back into the same level of comfort and affection you had before.

Sera and I met in the 7th grade. We had P.E. together, but it wasn’t until an ill-fated school dance when her boyfriend dumped her, and my crush was dancing with someone else that our “woe-is-me” thirteen-year-old eyes met across the room, and we bonded. It was a true meeting of the minds, something that remains true to this day. We practically lived at each others houses and for most of our adolescence, shared every detail of our lives with one another. We were so close, we even have identical scars on our ankles where we decided to bond our sisterhood through pain (a la Practical Magic, not our brightest idea in retrospect).

Though we’ve lived in different states for the past 6 years we’ve maintained one of the strongest friendships I have ever known. This is in part due to the fact that we have an intimate knowledge of each other’s strengths and flaws. We have watched each other succeed and fail with boys, family, alcohol, emotional trauma, school, finances, and more, with a willingness to see each other through each situation.

Though it hasn’t always been sunshine and rainbows, we’ve stuck it out. And managed to have quite a few shenanigans (< why does that word get better every time I use it?) in the process. I couldn’t ask for a better best friend.

One thought on “My Best

  1. You’re right – having a friendship like that is wonderful! One of my closest friends is someone I’ve known for 16 years and although we’ve lived in different places since finishing high school, when we’re together it’s like no time has passed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

