My Happy Place

A few weekends ago, I discovered my happy place, and best of all it’s not just a metaphorical one (although those are good too!).

Helen Putnam State Park rests in the rolling hills on the outskirts of Petaluma, surrounded by farmland. Most people I’ve met who were born and raised in Petaluma tend to think Helen Putnam is no big deal. It’s certainly not as strenuous as other hikes, the trails don’t wind through gigantic redwoods and it’s in their own back yard. But I, for one, am blown away every time I wander the trails there.

The view from the top of the first hill. Definitely reminds me of the rolling, green hills of Ireland. Most of the trails are open land at first and then wind into tree covered trails.

Harrison looking very stoic underneath a treetop covered trail.

I’ve been taking Harrison there every weekend. (Side note: It used to be impossible to walk him, but I finally purchased a front lead halter and it is working wonders!) I find myself looking forward to our hikes every week, and I think something about the openness of Helen Putnam really allows me to reflect. Harrison does some reflecting too. Here he is checking out the wildlife:

a.k.a longingly staring at all the other dogs who pass by.

When I’m stressed out during the week, I think about my upcoming hike to feel better (well, that and wrapping my fingers are an ice-cold beer!). It may not mean a lot to everyone, but it has special meaning for me, and I’m so happy to have discovered it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

