Goals for 2012

Ah, New Year’s Resolutions. You end the year feeling tired and like there are so many aspects of your life that need to change. A new year begins, which seems like a perfect opportunity. Over the course of the year you slowly lose your resolve until it’s time to make resolutions all over again.

I am not one to make New Year’s Resolutions. In the past I’ve found them silly since so many people renig on their previously passionate commitments. With that said, I have a new-found outlook and that is that goals are important. Goals should be set in order to help you achieve what you want. Creating New Year’s Resolutions can really be a great time to decide on the goals you’d like to achieve for the next year.

I really enjoyed a recent post by Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point about New Year’s Resolutions.

http://www.healthytippingpoint.com/2011/12/wait-until-the-7th.html

A few takeaways:

1) Divide your goals into categories (i.e. personal and professional)

2) WAIT. Wait until the “OMG, it’s a New Year, anything is possible” hyped-up energy has cleared.

3) Be specific.

Taking her advice, I waited a few weeks to make my goals so I could make definable goals that I could stick to. Here are a few of my goals for 2012:

Personal Goals

– Work out at least 2x per week
– Incorporate yoga into fitness regime
– Read more books – 1 every 2 months
– Strengthen relationship with Ben
– Travel to see parents more often
– Save money
Professional Goals:
– Excel in new position
– Complete class to further Graduate School goals
I tried to make goals of a manageable size. I now read 1 book every 3 or 4 months, so my new goal is to read 1 book every 2 months. Instead of promising myself I’m going to work out like crazy 5 days a week, I tried to set a realistic goal to prevent disappointment.
I really do believe 2012 has great things in store, and am going to make a conscious effort to make my goals a reality!

 

Leave a Reply

