New Goodbyes

Tonight I’m saying “bon voyage” to one of my closest friends, Claire. For the past month, Claire and her roommate Maricor (who I’ll also miss dearly) have been selling their earthly belongings to move to Manhattan.

When I moved to the area a year and a half ago, I was shocked to get the first job for which I applied. It was a small start-up company, and Claire and I comprised the entire marketing team. We spent 9 months crammed into a tiny office together. This inevitably led to friendship.

Over the course of the past year and a half, she has become one of my closest confidant’s and I’ve really appreciated her support, acceptance and positive outlook. I’ve also appreciated the wine drinking, pizza eating and gossiping. 🙂

In the past few months quite a few of my friends have moved away. Losing Claire (albeit, so she can follow her dreams to the Big Apple!) made me think about friendships, and how important social interaction is to my feeling of well being.

Moving from Arizona 5 years ago to attend a tiny college in the Napa Valley, and later moving from the Napa Valley to the San Francisco Bay Area, I have made many close friendships, but my close friends are spread all over the country.

Sometimes it makes me sad that I don’t have many close friends who live nearby. But then I remember how wonderful the friendships I’ve made truly are and I know the support is there, whether it’s next door or across the country.

I will miss Claire’s presence dearly, but feel so blessed to be able to call her “friend.”

 

Leave a Reply

